50ème des alumni – conférence et soirée de gala

 

La soirée du 9 novembre 2019, organisée à l’occasion du 50ème des Alumni et après une journée entière d’activités sur le campus, offrait aux alumni une soirée de conférence et de gala au SwissTech Convention Center.

A l’occasion du cinquantenaire, Martin Vetterli, Président de l’Ecole, a offert un panorama de l’évolution de l’EPFL de 1969 à 2019, regardant également vers les 50 années à venir avec une projection jusqu’en 2069. André Borschberg, cofondateur et pilote de Solar Impulse et Wendy Queen, Tenure Track Assistant Professor au Laboratory of Functional Inorganic Materials, rejoints par le Prix Nobel Jacques Dubochet à travers une vidéo, ont présenté comment la science – de l’EPFL et au-delà – peut contribuer à résoudre les questions climatiques.

Plusieurs alumni œuvrant pour l’innovation de pointe étaient également présents pour une table ronde: Marc Bürki et Paolo Buzzi, cofondateurs de Swissquote, Anne Mellano, COO et cofondatrice de Bestmile, et Nathalie Brandenberg, COO et cofondatrice de SUNbioscience.

L’excellence de l’éducation de l’EPFL n’était pas en reste avec la présence de Pierre Vandergheynst, Vice-Président pour l’Education, le projet EPFLoop et la campagne de philanthropie 50Fifty représentée par son ambassadeur Silvio Napoli, alumnus et Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors de Schindler.

Un somptueux buffet dînatoire attendait par la suite nos alumni, animé par l’EPFL Big Band et sa piste de danse. La magnifique soirée qui a suivi fait du 50ème des Alumni un évènement mémorable entre tous.

Photos: © Alain Herzog

The Alumni 50th – conference and gala evening

 

In the evening of November 9th, 2019, on the occasion of the Alumni 50th and after a full day on campus, EPFL graduates joined a conference at the SwissTech Convention Center.

Martin Vetterli, President of the School, presented a panorama of EPFL from 1969 to 2019, also looking ahead with the next steps until the next anniversary in 2069.André Borschberg, cofounder and pilot of Solar Impulse and Wendy Queen, Tenure Track Assistant Professor, Laboratory of Functional Inorganic Materials, joined by Nobel Prize Jacques Dubochet through a video, then addressed how science can help solve climate change.

Several examples of how alumni are at the very heart of innovation were also presented with Marc Bürki and Paolo Buzzi, co-founders of Swissquote, Anne Mellano, COO and co-founder of Bestmile, and Nathalie Brandenberg, COO and co-founder of SUNbioscience.

The excellence of EPFL’s education also shone bright with Pierre Vandergheynst, Vice-President for Education, the EPFLoop project and the 50Fifty fundraising campaign presented by its ambassador Silvio Napoli, alumnus and Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors at Schindler.

A wonderful cocktail dinner and an amazing party, animated by the EPFL Big Band the dancefloor, followed and made this Alumni 50th the most memorable event of all.

Photos: © Alain Herzog